Quickies Are Fun

Several music news items caught my attention this week. Here’s a quickie…

Russian Study Says Heavy Metal Is 50% Murderous, 35% Satanic, 7% Suicidal

A tasty recipe for success, if you ask me. I suspect the remaining 8% is a divided up between fist pumping, head punching, heavy drinking, rough sexin’, fireballs, dragon slaying, and catching rainbows, but the study doesn’t disclose this information. And apparently, as Rollingstone.com points out, it doesn’t disclose much else, either. Such as the bands listened to (the Russian scientists claim to have sat around listening to 700 “heavy metal” bands, which I imagine would be quite a scene), presence of ironic lyrics, or sub-genre of metal “studied”. Which I guess is kind of a big deal, what with the 1,897 dozen types of metal currently in existence (black metal, death metal, glam metal, industrial metal, nu metal, power metal, alternative metal, thrash metal, progressive metal, speed metal, metalcore, grunge, to name one of those dozens).

Zeppelin To Release Yet Another Greatest Hits Compilation

Really, guys? You really need to slap together another “Best Of” comp? You’re not doing much to convince me that Alzheimer’s hasn’t yet set in for you old farts. You seem to forget that you ceased recording new music together 27 years ago and have since officially released ELEVEN compilations, remasters, live recordings and DVDs, and any combination of the three. The only way you’re going to get me to buy another recording of ‘Whole Lotta Love’ is if it comes with footage of it being ventriloquized through the mouth of your favorite shark during his favorite pastime.

Linkin Park Are Obvious

The guy who makes noise with a guitar in Linkin Park had some earth-shattering revelations after opening for Pearl Jam recently.

“I was really blown away by what they do on stage — how organic their show is,” Delson says. “We played [with them in] Lisbon, and we were kind of high on ourselves a little bit. Then I stood on the side of the stage, watched Pearl Jam perform, and was immediately very humbled. They seriously destroyed us. I say that in the best way possible. It was like, ‘Holy crap, there’s so much room for us still to grow.”

I give this guy a lot of credit for being able to juggle his music career and his, obviously very successful, detective agency. I’ll give the gumshoe a hand and help promote his band with this rockin’ video. Must be their new single or something.

Andy McKee Is A Fox

Ok, so this is neither new nor news. And I know his YouTube videos have already been around the block quite a few times, but I’ll be damned if I ever get sick of listening to/watching this guy play. I finally got a chance to listen to his album during this post, and I can safely say I’ll be climbing into bed in a bit with a little less blood flow in my head, if you know what I mean.

2 responses to “Quickies Are Fun

  1. you’re such a witty fellow, Mr Ealer. I thoroughly enjoy your posts… even if it means allowing you to call Zeppelin ‘old farts’.

  2. nothin’ but love for the fogies.

Leave a Reply

